Suicide : A Global View on Suicidal Ideation Among Adolescents by
Suicidal ideation is a major problem among the youth population in both the developed and developing world, leading in 6% of the deaths among youths globally. In countries considered to have low suicidal behavioral issues such as the Americas, 5,000 suicides occur annually. The chapters in this book are based on an analysis of data from the most recent Global School-based Health Survey (GSHS). The GSHS has been conducted in over 86 countries in all of the World Health Organization's regions. In this book, the authors aim to provide comparable data concerning the mental health of adolescents in 20 countries. The dependent variable used is suicidal ideation, while the independent factors include age, gender, food security, anxiety, loneliness, close friends, truancy, bullying, attachment, violence, smoking cigarettes or marijuana, alcohol abuse and parental understanding.
Epidemic by
A global health catastrophe narrowly averted. A world unprepared for another outbreak. In December 2013, a young boy in a tiny West African village contracted the deadly Ebola virus. The virus spread to his relatives, then to neighboring communities, then across international borders. The world's first urban Ebola outbreak quickly overwhelmed the global health system and threatened to kill millions. As we are currently seeing, in an increasingly interconnected world in which everyone is one or two flights away from New York or London or Beijing, a localized epidemic has become a pandemic. Ebola's spread through West Africa to Nigeria, the United Kingdom and the United States sounded global alarms that the next killer outbreak is right around the corner--and that the world is woefully unprepared to combat a new deadly disease. From the poorest villages of rural West Africa to the Oval Office itself, this book tells the story of a deadly virus that spun wildly out of control--and reveals the truth about how close the world came to a catastrophic global pandemic. It is a story that serves as a cautionary tale for the COVID-19 epidemic currently spreading throughout the world.
Modern Slavery by
Siddharth Kara is a tireless chronicler of the human cost of slavery around the world. He has documented the dark realities of modern slavery in order to reveal the degrading and dehumanizing systems that strip people of their dignity for the sake of profit--and to link the suffering of the enslaved to the day-to-day lives of consumers in the West. In Modern Slavery, Kara draws on his many years of expertise to demonstrate the astonishing scope of slavery and offer a concrete path toward its abolition. From labor trafficking in the U.S. agricultural sector to sex trafficking in Nigeria to debt bondage in the Southeast Asian construction sector to forced labor in the Thai seafood industry, Kara depicts the myriad faces and forms of slavery, providing a comprehensive grounding in the realities of modern-day servitude. Drawing on sixteen years of field research in more than fifty countries around the globe--including revelatory interviews with both the enslaved and their oppressors--Kara sets out the key manifestations of modern slavery and how it is embedded in global supply chains. Slavery offers immense profits at minimal risk through the exploitation of vulnerable subclasses whose brutalization is tacitly accepted by the current global economic order. Kara has developed a business and economic analysis of slavery based on metrics and data that attest to the enormous scale and functioning of these systems of exploitation. Beyond this data-driven approach, Modern Slavery unflinchingly portrays the torments endured by the powerless. This searing exposé documents one of humanity's greatest wrongs and lays out the framework for a comprehensive plan to eradicate it.
Young and Homeless by
Why do young people become homeless and what might be done about it? This book is important reading for academics and students studying education, sociology, or social work who wish to explore and understand the experience of homeless young people. Their stories about their aspirations, experiences of schooling, and the family breakdowns that culminate in their becoming homeless challenges tired assumptions about homelessness. Through exploring one effective support service, the book presents positive and far-reaching strategies to assist young people in difficult predicaments back into secure accommodation.
Occupational Outlook Handbook (2014-2015) by
The "Occupational Outlook Handbook" is the most widely respected and used career reference available - and only JIST Publishing's version includes useful bonus content, including a Personality-Career Quiz and a new Best OOH Jobs list. JIST's 2014-2015edition of the OOH features well written interesting descriptions for more than 330 major jobs in the U.S., as well as summary information on additional jobs. For each job, the book discusses work tasks, job outlook through 2022, training and education needed pay, work environment, similar occupations, and additional information sources. The book is packed with photos, charts, and practical, current information, which makes it invaluable for anyone doing career research, making career decisions, writing resumes, and preparing for interviews. This OOH includes another JIST Publishing exclusive: the Personality-Career Quiz, which matches readers to specific OOH jobs.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life by 
Health Care Systems Around the World
The U. S. Justice System - An Encyclopedia by
A comprehensive, three-volume set that provides detailed background essays, short topical entries, and primary document excerpts to explain the organization, history, and functioning of the U.S. justice system. The U.S. Justice System: An Encyclopedia is a one-stop resource, uniquely structured to include both introductory information as well as more in-depth and detailed resources. It explains not only how the American civil and criminal justice system affects the parties to a particular case or other legal action, but also how the rights, benefits, and legal protections of our country impact virtually all people in America. The set comprises three volumes. The first volume provides chapter-length essays explaining the organization and functioning of federal, state, and local government, as well as the working of federal and state judiciaries, regulatory bodies, and penal systems. The second volume contains shorter, alphabetically arranged entries on hundreds of law-related topics, including case descriptions and biographies of major figures, federal and state court organizational charts, legal statistics, and other background information. The third volume contains original documents, statutes, and texts of important cases relevant to the functioning of the American justice system. Readers will understand the structures, concepts, and vocabulary of American law and legal institutions, and grasp how the U.S. legal system has evolved to meet the complex changing needs of the nation. * More than 50 contributing scholars provide a variety of expertise from the fields of law, history, and politics * A separate volume of primary source documents * A comprehensive bibliography as well as suggested readings for each essay and article * A glossary of hundreds of key terms like "contract," "injunction," and "precedent"
 |
WCTC Library Catalog for Print Books & Media |
 |
WCTC Library eBook Collection |
 |
WorldCat, the worldwide catalog of resources |
|
|
