Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The SHRM Essential Guide to Employment Law by The SHRM Essential Guide to Employment Lawis your One-Stop Legal Reference to Employment Law. It simple, straightforward language on everything HR professionals, employers, and small business owners need to know about their relationship with their employees in order to comply with the law and protect thems elves and their business from legal action.Covering more than 200 workplace law topics, the Guide provides an overview of U.S. workplace laws, regulations, and court decisions that employers, large or small, are likely to face, as well as what pitfalls to anticipate and when to seek professional advice. Each chapter offers general principles, highlights key issues, and provides specific examples and suggestions to help make the employer-employee relationship run more smoothly.
Publication Date: 2017
Benefit Corporation Law and Governance by Corporations with a Conscience Corporations today are embedded in a system of shareholder primacy. Nonfinancial concerns-like worker well-being, environmental impact, and community health-are secondary to the imperative to maximize share price. Benefit corporation governance reorients corporations so that they work for the interests of all stakeholders, not just shareholders. This is the first authoritative guide to this new form of governance. It is an invaluable guide for legal and financial professionals, as well as interested entrepreneurs and investors who want to understand how purposeful corporate governance can be put into practice.
Publication Date: 2018
The Essential Guide to Handling Workplace Harassment and Discrimination by Don't let harassment and discrimination claims disrupt your workplace Discrimination and harassment can poison the work environment, undermine employee morale, and even lead to costly investigations and lawsuits. In the era of #MeToo, it's more important than ever to take steps to prevent harassment and discrimination, as well as appropriately respond when incidents do happen. Armed with the information and strategies in this book, you can protect your company and employees from illegal harassment and discrimination. You'll learn how to: develop policies prohibiting harassment and discrimination train employees and supervisors handle employee complaints and investigate claims thoroughly document your company's response take action against wrongdoers prevent illegal retaliation, and respond to agency complaints, investigations, and lawsuits. Finally, this book provides you with the support you'll need by posting significant developments on the online legal update page.
Call Number: KF3464.E54 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Business Law by For courses in Business Law. Examining Business Law Through Real Cases Business Law: Legal Environment, Online Commerce, Business Ethics, and International Issues is an engaging text that teaches readers about the workings of business law by examining real case studies and examples. The material explores core issues in both national and international business law in depth while remaining brief and concise. The Ninth Edition has been updated with a wealth of new cases from the U.S. Supreme and Federal Courts for readers to investigate, as well as new examples of environmental, digital and international business legal cases. An exploration of ethics takes business law education a step further by teaching readers how to practice justly. Illustrated with beautiful imagery, Business Law uses tangible examples that readers will be able to reference in their future careers to introduce readers to this important topic. Also Available with MyBusinessLawLabTM This title is available with MyBusinessLawLab--an online homework, tutorial, and assessment program designed to work with this text to engage students and improve results. Within its structured environment, students practice what they learn, test their understanding, and pursue a personalized study plan that helps them better absorb course material and understand difficult concepts. NOTE: You are purchasing a standalone product; MyBusinessLawLab does not come packaged with this content. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and MyBusinessLawLab search for: 0134528743/ 9780134528748 Business Law: Legal Environment, Online Commerce, Business Ethics, and International Issues Plus MyBusinessLawLab with Pearson eText -- Access Card Package (1-semester) Package consists of: 0134004000 / 9780134004006 Business Law: Legal Environment, Online Commerce, Business Ethics, and International Issues 0134447336 / 9780134447339 BusinessLawLab with Pearson eText -- Access Card -- for Business Law: Legal Environment, Online Commerce, Business Ethic, and International Issues (1-semester)
Call Number: KF889.C433 2016
Publication Date: 2016
The Manager's Legal Handbook by Successfully manage employees while avoiding legal traps If you supervise employees or independent contractors, The Manager's Legal Handbook is the perfect resource. Need information about overtime? Want useful ideas on workplace policies? Have a question about trade secrets and need the answer now? This book provides everything you need to stay within the bounds of the law, including information on: hiring discrimination and harassment wages and hours privacy time off workplace policies, and firing and layoffs. Designed for managers, business owners, and human resources professionals who need answers on the go, The Manager's Legal Handbook covers the most common issues employers face. The 9th edition is completely updated to reflect changes to discrimination laws, overtime rules, trade secret laws, and more. It also provides updated information on the laws of each state, including paid sick leave and paid family leave laws.
Call Number: KF3455.G84 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Chat is available when the Library is open.
Library Information Desk
Kel Hughes Jones, Ed.D.