Looking for leveled books to practice your reading skills? Please check out our Developing Readers Collections in the library.
Electronic books, to be read online, are available as well.
Expand Your English by
Writing academic prose in English is especially difficult for non-native speakers, largely because the standard vocabulary used in this genre can be quite different from colloquial English. Expand Your English A Guide to Improving Your Academic Vocabulary is a unique and invaluable guide that will enable the reader to overcome this hurdle. It will become the favourite go-to reference book for both beginners and for intermediate learners struggling with the complexities of English-language academic writing. Steve Hart covers 1,000 vocabulary items that are essential for good academic writing. The first section describes 200 key terms in detail, grouping them into logical sets of 10. Through careful repetition, the reader will find it easy to retain, retrieve, and reuse these essential phrases. The second section explains a further 800 terms, grouping them according to function, meaning, and the areas of an essay where they are likely to be used. The expansive scope of Expand Your English gives non-native speakers all the vocabulary tools they need to master this difficult style of writing.
New Ways in Teaching Speaking by
New Ways in Teaching Speaking, Second Edition includes more than 100 new activities for all proficiency levels and all ages. Learn how to incorporate technology tools to improve speaking skills while utilizing digital literacy skills. The new career-focused activities connect to work in business, law, and more, allowing students to continue strengthening their speaking skills for their daily lives speaking in English. These diverse and ready-to-use activities will keep your students engaged and enjoying their time learning this essential language skill. The activities are organized by category: Developing Fluency Developing Accuracy Developing Pronunciation Speaking in Specific Contexts Speaking and Technology
Pre-TOEFL Guide by
Preparing for TOEFLDo you plan to take TOEFL or IELTS but are not ready for the challenge? Do you need more practice? If you do, then this book is for you. It is also for those who just want to practice their academic English. Whatever your purpose, this book will give you the foundation in academic English you need for TOEFL and IELTS success.Part I: Argument StrategiesIn this section, you will learn how to argue subjectively and objectively in writing and when speaking. You will also learn how to summarize. Being able to argue and summarize proficiently is essential for TOEFL and IELTS success, and for success at an English-speaking university.Part II: Academic English PracticeThis section consists of grouped exercises. They are Structure, Written Expression, and Vocabulary. These challenging exercises will help you build an academic English vocabulary while introducing you to English grammar at the university level.
Essential Words for the TOEFL by
This revised book is specifically designed for ESL students preparing to take the TOEFL and features updated vocabulary that is seen most often on the exam. It includes: Phrases and "purpose" words (for example, define, discuss, claim, etc.) that are used in the speaking and writing sections of the test New words and phrases, since you are often asked to explain the meaning of a phrase Lists of vocabulary words with definitions, sample sentences, and practice exercises for 500 need-to-know words Detailed advice to help students expand their English language vocabulary, and more Students can test their mastery of TOEFL vocabulary by taking the included practice test with answer key, which is designed to help students evaluate their progress, and increase confidence in their vocabulary skills.
Spanish English Bilingual Visual Dictionary by
This brilliant bilingual book is your one-stop shop for Spanish, packed with more than 10,000 essential words to look up and learn. With each Spanish entry illustrated by an eye-catching visual, language learning has never been easier. You'll be introduced to useful vocabulary arranged by theme across a broad range of subjects, from food and drink to sports and leisure and travel and transport. Throughout the book everyday items are included and labelled to boost your learning. If you can't find the right words, just use the comprehensive and clear indexes to set you straight in an instant. 

 The Spanish-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary also features an amazing audio app, so you can hear all the words included spoken aloud. Use the book to find all the words and phrases you need, then perfect your pronunciation with the audio assistant.

 Whether you're studying for exams, off on vacation, or away on business, this is the ultimate dictionary for all aspiring Spanish speakers.
TOEFL IBT Prep Plus 2020-2021 by
Kaplan's TOEFL iBT Prep Plus 2020-2021 provides the most important language skills and strategies you need to succeed on the test, which is required worldwide for international students who want to study abroad. Master your English abilities in reading, writing, listening, and speaking so you can face the TOEFL with confidence. Kaplan is so certain that TOEFL iBT Prep Plus 2020-2021 offers all the guidance you need to excel at the TOEFL that we guarantee it: After studying with the online resources and book, you'll score higher on the TOEFL--or you'll get your money back. With TOEFL iBT Prep Plus 2020-2021 you can study on-the-go. Log in from anywhere to watch video lessons, listen to audio, and take practice tests that are optimized for your mobile device. The Most Practice Four full-length online practice tests with detailed answers and explanations More than 450 practice questions to help you get comfortable with the test Focused practice for each section of the test helps you reinforce critical concepts More than 95 minutes of audio for Listening, Speaking, and Writing sections included on CD and online, plus complete transcripts in the book Exclusive score-raising tips and strategies for each language skill: Reading, Writing, Listening, and Speaking Expert Guidance More than 12 self-paced video lessons provide expert strategies for every section of the test Effective study tips and advice from Kaplan's test experts Kaplan's expert psychometricians ensure our practice questions and study materials are true to the test. We invented test prep--Kaplan (www.kaptest.com) has been helping students for almost 80 years. Our proven strategies have helped legions of students achieve their dreams.
 |
WCTC Library Catalog for Print Books & Media |
 |
WCTC Library eBook Collection |
 |
WorldCat, the worldwide catalog of resources |
|
|
