Arburg Practical Guide to Injection Moulding, 2nd Edition by This completely revised and updated second edition details the factors involved in the injection moulding process, from material properties and selection to troubleshooting faults, and includes the equipment types currently in use and machine settings for different types of plastics. Material flow is a critical parameter in moulding and there are sections covering rheology and viscosity. High temperature is also discussed as it can lead to poor quality mouldings due to material degradation. The text is supported by 74 tables, many of which list key properties and processing parameters, and 233 figures; there are also many photographs of machinery and mouldings to illustrate key points. Troubleshooting flow charts are also included to indicate what should be changed to resolve common problems. Injection moulding in the Western World is becoming increasingly competitive as the manufacturing base for many plastic materials has moved to the East. Thus, Western manufacturers have moved into more technically difficult products and mouldings to provide enhanced added value and maintain market share. Technology is becoming more critical, together with innovation and quality control. There is a chapter on advanced processing in injection moulding covering multimaterial and assisted moulding technologies. This guide will help develop good technical skills and appropriate processing techniques for the range of plastics and products in the marketplace. Every injection moulder will find useful information in this text, in addition, this book will be of use to experts looking to fill gaps in their knowledge base as well as those new to the industry. ARBURG has been manufacturing injection moulding machines since 1954 and is one of the major global players. The company prides itself on the support offered to clients, which is exemplified in its training courses. This book is based on some of the training material and hence is based on years of experience.
Injection Molding by Injection moulding is one of the most versatile and important manufacturing processes, capable of mass-producing complicated plastic parts in a variety of complex shapes with high dimensional precision. It is a major processing technique for converting thermoplastic and thermosetting materials with the aid of heat and pressure into complicated parts, consuming world-wide approximately 32% of all plastics. This book presents current research data in the study of injection moulding from across the globe, including an overview of injection moulding as a manufacturing technique for pharmaceutical applications; melt/solid weldline in over injection moulding; metal injection moulding of Co for biomedical applications; and the application of ultrasonic technology in the injection moulding process.
Polymer Nanocomposites by This book provides research on the synthesis and applications of polymer nanocomposites. Chapter One discusses advances in injection moulding technology of polymer nanocomposites. Chapter Two reviews the functionalisation and applications of carbon/polymer nanocomposite (bio)sensors containing nanoparticles. Chapter Three focuses on polymer composites based on highly anisotropic cellulose nanocrystals. Chapter Four studies a novel nanocomposite specifically developed for chemical treatment of walls, floor, ceiling, roof, etc., to prevent or limit exposure to dangerous gases seeping into buildings through constructive materials.
Polymer Surfaces by Polymer surfaces having micro-nanostructures can be produced using injection molding and hot embossing, high efficiency techniques able to meet the needs of industry for the mass production of polymer parts. Micro-nanosurfaces are in great demand for multiple applications that include antipollution and self-cleaning surfaces, microlenses, dry adhesion surfaces, antireflection coatings, cell culturing and differentiation as well as superhydrophobic surfaces. Polymer Surfaces: Fabrication, Modification and Applications discusses the injection molding of micro-nanostructured polymer surfaces consists of three main technical steps: mold inserts, processing parameters and demolding. The authors also discuss the capabilities of various demolding methods, such as antistiction coatings, to protect and enhance the surface properties of micro-nanostructures. The subsequent contribution focuses on biocompatible and biodegradable hollow nanoparticles prepared via the layer-by-layer deposition of polymer thin films on sacrificial templates. The review encompasses all aspects of nanocapsules from preparation through characterization and the applications as drug carriers. A promising strategy is proposed for facilely and successively replicating randomly arranged pyramids on an etched silicon wafer to polystyrene surface. The authors propose that this fast and efficient replication strategy could be an excellent candidate for developing antireflective protective layers without complicated procedures and expensive materials. A promising strategy was proposed for facilely and successively replicating the natural functional nanostructure of the cicada wing onto polystyrene surfaces in the concluding study. This work may direct the design of gradient wetting surfaces by mimicking the nanopillar structure of cicada wing. This strategy could aid in mimicking bio-inspired functional micro/nanostructures without complicated procedures and expensive materials.
Injection Molding Processing Data 2E by "In setting up an injection molding machine, reliable initial processing data is necessary to optimize and stabilize the process, and guarantee excellent results. This powerful tool will provide you with the most important processing data, such as viscosity, thermal properties, mold temperatures, and suggested heater temperatures for the most commonly used materials in injection molding. This revised and improved second edition covers: - Injection Technology - The Injection Molding Cycle - Useful Equations and Theory - Examples of Calculations of Processing Variables - Polymer Data Pocket-sized and condensed--yet clear and comprehensive!"--
Intelligent Optimization of Mold Design and Process Parameters in Injection Molding by This book describes an effective framework for setting the right process parameters and new mold design to reduce the current plastic defects in injection molding. It presents a new approach for the optimization of injection molding process via (i) a new mold runner design which leads to 20 percent reduction in scrap rate, 2.5 percent reduction in manufacturing time, and easier ejection of injected part, (ii) a new mold gate design which leads to less plastic defects; and (iii) the introduction of a number of promising alternatives with high moldability indices. Besides presenting important developments of relevance academic research, the book also includes useful information for people working in the injection molding industry, especially in the green manufacturing field.
Introduction to Polymer Chemistry by Introduction to Polymer Chemistry provides undergraduate students with a much-needed, well-rounded presentation of the principles and applications of natural, synthetic, inorganic, and organic polymers. With an emphasis on the environment and green chemistry and materials, this fourth edition continues to provide detailed coverage of natural and synthetic giant molecules, inorganic and organic polymers, elastomers, adhesives, coatings, fibers, plastics, blends, caulks, composites, and ceramics. Building on undergraduate work in foundational courses, the text fulfills the American Chemical Society Committee on Professional Training (ACS CPT) in-depth course requirement |
WCTC Library Catalog for Print Books & Media |
 |
WCTC Library eBook Collection |
 |
Films on Demand streaming video database |
 |
WISCAT, the statewide catalog of resources
|
 |
WorldCat, the worldwide catalog of resources |
|
|
Chat is available when the Library is open.
Librarians
