The Assessment Center Handbook for Police and Fire Personnel by
Over the years, the assessment center method of evaluating and selecting individuals to fill technical, supervisory, and management-level positions has proven to be highly successful in municipal police and fire departments. This fourth edition expands upon the concepts and principles presented in the previous editions and numerous chapters have been extensively edited and reformatted. New sections have been presented on the critical EMS problem as well as Public Education Exercises. The chapter "Best Practices in Assessment Center Exercises" provides many new examples of how candidates can achieve superior performance in many different kinds of assessment exercises. The text continues to offer invaluable insight concerning the reliability, cost-effectiveness, and objective methods for the selection of candidates for higher appointments. Included topics are the advantages of the assessment center; objections to assessment centers; typical and effective assessment exercises; center design and administration; selection and training of assessors; candidate evaluation, scoring, and feedback; preparing for an assessment center; best practices; greatest blunders; and ensuring candidate satisfaction with assessment methods. A substantial appendix offers many valuable resource tools: typical in-basket items; guidelines for scoring; group problem-solving exercises; tactical fire problem scenario; employee meeting exercise; citizen interview exercise; role-playing exercises; shift meeting exercise; community meeting exercise; room configurations, typical schedules; and candidate feedback questionnaires and forms. This fourth edition continues to be the most authoritative source for assessment center management.
Critical Issues and Analysis in Fire Protection and Prevention by
With an estimated 135 000 reported fire incidents occurring each day worldwide (CTIF World Fire Statistics Center, 2020), fire safety is a major societal and safety issue. Fires have an enormous impact on people's lives and wellbeing. They cause massive amounts of air pollution, increase carbon emissions, and are responsible for the loss of invaluable natural and cultural heritage. In the current context of climate change, it is hence crucial to develop appropriate preventive and protective measures against fire. This book is a compilation of studies and advances on the current state of research related to critical issues and analysis in the field of fire safety, with chapter contributions from various countries and research institutions worldwide (Australia, Chile, France, India and USA). It aims to provide a broad picture of currently faced challenges and potential solutions from passive and active protective measures, to modelling and experimentations related to compartment and wildland fires. Chapter 1 and 2 address the issues of smoke generation in compartment fires, with, on the one hand, the risk of ignition of unburnt gases and, and on the other hand, the need for visibility through smoke for evacuation. Chapter 3 and 4 are dedicated to the fire resistance and pyrolysis study of innovative composite materials and bio-based flame retardants, notably for vehicle and aircraft applications. Chapter 5 discusses the challenges related to the fire protection of built cultural heritage and evaluate the performance of an innovative sprinkler fire suppression system. Chapter 6 addresses the issue of forest fires and provides a methodology to improve the emergency response time at urban-forest interfaces. Chapter 7 opens up the discussion and provides potential solutions to help reduce the occurrence of wildfires and increase community safety in the context of climate change by involving renewable energies and local fire stations.
SFPE Guide to Human Behavior in Fire by
This single resource for the fire safety community distills the most relevant and useful science and research into a consensus-based guide whose key factors and considerations impact the response and behavior of occupants of a building during a fire event. The Second Edition of SFPE's Engineering Guide: Human Behavior in Fire provides a common introduction to this field for the broad fire safety community: fire protection engineers/fire safety engineers, human behavior scientists/researchers, design professionals, and code authorities. The public benefits from consistent understanding of the factors that influence the responses and behaviors of people when threatened by fire and the application of reliable methodologies to evaluate and estimate human response in buildings and structures. This Guide also aims to lessen the uncertainties in the "people components" of fire safety and allow for more refined analysis with less reliance on arbitrary safety factors. As with fire science in general, our knowledge of human behavior in fire is growing, but is still characterized by uncertainties that are traceable to both limitation in the science and unfamiliarity by the user communities. The concepts for development of evacuation scenarios for performance-based designs and the technical methods to estimate evacuation response are reviewed with consideration to the limitation and uncertainty of the methods. This Guide identifies both quantitative and qualitative information that constitutes important consideration prior to developing safety factors, exercising engineering judgment, and using evacuation models in the practical design of buildings and evacuation procedures. Besides updating material in the First Edition, this revision includes new information on: Incapacitating Effects of Fire Effluent & Toxicity Analysis Methods Occupant Behavior Scnearios Movement Models and Behavioral Models Egress Model Selection, Verification, and Validation Estimation of Uncertainty and Use of Safety Factors Enhancing Human Response to Emergencies & Notification of Messaging The prediction of human behavior during a fire emergency is one of the most challenging areas of fire protection engineering. Yet, understanding and considering human factors is essential to designing effective evacuation systems, ensuring safety during a fire and related emergency events, and accurately reconstructing a fire.
Fire Investigator by
The National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), the International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC), and the International Association of Arson Investigators (IAAI) are pleased to bring you the fifth ediiton of Fire Investigator: Principles and Practice to NFPA 921 and 1033. The Fifth Edition covers the entire spectrum of both the 2017 edition of NFPA 921: Guide for Fire and Explosion Investigation and the 2014 edition of NFPA 1033: Standard for Professional Qualifications for Fire Investigator. It also meets the course outcomes of the National Fire Academy's Fire and Emergency Services Higher Education (FESHE) associate-level Fire Investigation I and Fire Investigation II courses.Fire Investigator: Principles and Practice to NFPA 921 and NFPA 1033, Fifth Edition offers students a comprehensive introduction to the knowledge and resources needed to be an effective fire investigator. Starting with details on how to use available investigation resources and the basics of fire science and investigation methodology, this textbook then continues by discussing processes and special considerations for investigating specific types of fires and explosions.
Fundamentals of Fire Fighter Skills and Hazardous Materials Response by
Fundamentals of Fire Fighter Skills and Hazardous Materials Response, Fourth Edition provides the complete Fire Fighter I and Fire Fighter II training solution. The National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) and the International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC) are pleased to bring you product enhancements and features that ensure student comprehension and enhanced critical thinking.The Fourth Edition features the same exceptional content, along with the latest research, standards and technology, including the latest research-based data from Underwriters Laboratories (UL) and the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). Understanding that today's fires release energy faster, reach flashover potential sooner, and may reach higher temperatures than building fires of the past is critically important for new and seasoned fire fighters. This foundational knowledge is covered extensively, in addition to recent data identifying the higher rate of physical and mental health issues in the fire service than the general population. Information relating to fire fighter health and safety has been revised and updated to include behavioral and physical health awareness topics and statistics.The new edition meets and exceeds the performance requirements in the latest edition of NFPA 1001: Standard for Fire Fighter Professional Qualifications, as well as awareness level, the core operations level, and select mission-specific operations level responsibilities from NFPA 1072: Standard for Hazardous Materials/Weapons of Mass Destruction Emergency Response Personnel Professional Qualifications, 2017 Edition. Along with a new design, the structure and organization of the Fourth Edition has been completely updated to allow you the flexibility to teach your Fire Fighter I and II courses exactly the way you wish.The Fourth Edition delivers:A split-level table of contents with 5 distinct sectionsFire Fighter IFire Fighter IIHazardous Materials AwarenessHazardous Materials OperationsHazardous Materials Operations Mission SpecificContent meets all JPRs and competencies required within the latest editions of NFPA 1001 and NFPA 1072, as well as a correlation guide to NFPA 472Updated research and statistics, with reference information, is included to ensure evidence-based recommendations and protocolsA new and improved Skill Drill design with clear, comprehensive visual summariesAn updated art program featuring new photos and illustrations
Principles of Fire Behavior by
Using a quantitative approach, this text covers the scientific principles of fire behavior, such as heat transfer, ignition, flame spread, fire plumes, and heat flux. With an accessible approach to science and math, numerous case studies, and selected color illustrations, this text is ideal for those studying fire safety design and fire investigation.
 |
WCTC Library Catalog for Print Books & Media |
 |
WCTC Library eBook Collection |
 |
WISCAT, the statewide catalog of resources |
 |
WorldCat, the worldwide catalog of resources |
|
|
