The Assessment Center Handbook for Police and Fire Personnel by
Over the years, the assessment center method of evaluating and selecting individuals to fill technical, supervisory, and management-level positions has proven to be highly successful in municipal police and fire departments. This fourth edition expands upon the concepts and principles presented in the previous editions and numerous chapters have been extensively edited and reformatted. New sections have been presented on the critical EMS problem as well as Public Education Exercises. The chapter "Best Practices in Assessment Center Exercises" provides many new examples of how candidates can achieve superior performance in many different kinds of assessment exercises. The text continues to offer invaluable insight concerning the reliability, cost-effectiveness, and objective methods for the selection of candidates for higher appointments. Included topics are the advantages of the assessment center; objections to assessment centers; typical and effective assessment exercises; center design and administration; selection and training of assessors; candidate evaluation, scoring, and feedback; preparing for an assessment center; best practices; greatest blunders; and ensuring candidate satisfaction with assessment methods. A substantial appendix offers many valuable resource tools: typical in-basket items; guidelines for scoring; group problem-solving exercises; tactical fire problem scenario; employee meeting exercise; citizen interview exercise; role-playing exercises; shift meeting exercise; community meeting exercise; room configurations, typical schedules; and candidate feedback questionnaires and forms. This fourth edition continues to be the most authoritative source for assessment center management.
Critical Issues and Analysis in Fire Protection and Prevention by
With an estimated 135 000 reported fire incidents occurring each day worldwide (CTIF World Fire Statistics Center, 2020), fire safety is a major societal and safety issue. Fires have an enormous impact on people's lives and wellbeing. They cause massive amounts of air pollution, increase carbon emissions, and are responsible for the loss of invaluable natural and cultural heritage. In the current context of climate change, it is hence crucial to develop appropriate preventive and protective measures against fire. This book is a compilation of studies and advances on the current state of research related to critical issues and analysis in the field of fire safety, with chapter contributions from various countries and research institutions worldwide (Australia, Chile, France, India and USA). It aims to provide a broad picture of currently faced challenges and potential solutions from passive and active protective measures, to modelling and experimentations related to compartment and wildland fires. Chapter 1 and 2 address the issues of smoke generation in compartment fires, with, on the one hand, the risk of ignition of unburnt gases and, and on the other hand, the need for visibility through smoke for evacuation. Chapter 3 and 4 are dedicated to the fire resistance and pyrolysis study of innovative composite materials and bio-based flame retardants, notably for vehicle and aircraft applications. Chapter 5 discusses the challenges related to the fire protection of built cultural heritage and evaluate the performance of an innovative sprinkler fire suppression system. Chapter 6 addresses the issue of forest fires and provides a methodology to improve the emergency response time at urban-forest interfaces. Chapter 7 opens up the discussion and provides potential solutions to help reduce the occurrence of wildfires and increase community safety in the context of climate change by involving renewable energies and local fire stations.
EMT Exam Review Secrets Study Guide by
Mometrix Test Preparation's EMT Exam Review Secrets Study Guide is the ideal prep solution for anyone who wants to pass their NREMT Emergency Medical Technician Exam. The exam is extremely challenging, and thorough test preparation is essential for success. Our study guide includes: * Practice test questions with detailed answer explanations * Tips and strategies to help you get your best test performance * A complete review of all EMT test sections * Medical, Legal, and Ethical * Airway * Cardiology * Trauma * Medical Emergencies * Obstetrics and Pediatrics * Geriatrics * Operations Mometrix Test Preparation is not affiliated with or endorsed by any official testing organization. All organizational and test names are trademarks of their respective owners. The Mometrix guide is filled with the critical information you will need in order to do well on your EMT exam: the concepts, procedures, principles, and vocabulary that the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians (NREMT) expects you to have mastered before sitting for your exam. The Medical, Legal, and Ethical section covers: * Ryan White Law * Universal precautions * "Duty to act" The Airway section covers: * Normal breathing * Assessing respiration * Airway-clearing methods The Cardiology section covers: * Anatomy and function * Heart attacks * CPR The Trauma section covers: * Baseline vital signs * Rapid trauma assessment * Child vs. adult injuries The Medical Emergencies section covers: * Behavioral call * Drug categories * Poisoning The Obstetrics and Pediatrics section covers: * Imminent birth * Miscarriage * Pediatric patients The Geriatrics section covers: * GEMS diamond * Physiology in geriatric patients * DNR The Operations section covers: * Patient assessment process * Run report * Ambulance operations ...and much more! Our guide is full of specific and detailed information that will be key to passing your exam. Concepts and principles aren't simply named or described in passing, but are explained in detail. The Mometrix EMT study guide is laid out in a logical and organized fashion so that one section naturally flows from the one preceding it. Because it's written with an eye for both technical accuracy and accessibility, you will not have to worry about getting lost in dense academic language. Any test prep guide is only as good as its practice questions and answer explanations, and that's another area where our guide stands out. The Mometrix test prep team has provided plenty of EMT practice test questions to prepare you for what to expect on the actual exam. Each answer is explained in depth, in order to make the principles and reasoning behind it crystal clear. We've helped hundreds of thousands of people pass standardized tests and achieve their education and career goals. We've done this by setting high standards for Mometrix Test Preparation guides, and our EMT Exam Review Secrets Study Guide is no exception. It's an excellent investment in your future. Get the EMT review you need to be successful on your exam.
Fundamentals of Paramedic Practice by
Driven by changes to clinical practice, new evidence-based research, and shifts in global economics and politics, the field of paramedic science is rapidly evolving. This new edition of Fundamentals of Paramedic Practice offers students and recently qualified practitioners an accessible and comprehensive introduction to paramedic science and pre-hospital care, providing expert and up-to-date guidance on the essential theories and real-world practice of this dynamic area of emergency medicine. Assuming no prior knowledge of the subject, this user-friendly textbook provides broad and inclusive coverage of topics including professionalism, law and ethics, assessment skills, research methods, pharmacology and more. Contributions from experienced paramedics and clinicians, contemporary case studies, full-colour illustrations and powerful pedagogical tools help students gain a thorough understanding of the essential components of paramedic practice. Employs a comprehensive, multidisciplinary approach to the study of paramedic practice, presenting theoretical and clinical topics in a straightforward and student-friendly manner New chapters on toxicology, medical terminology and low acuity care in paramedicine, with an increased focus on mental health Includes new end-of-chapter learning activities and quizzes, case studies and references, charts and diagrams Fundamentals of Paramedic Practice: A Systems Approach is an invaluable resource for undergraduate paramedic and emergency care students as well as qualified paramedics, clinicians and educators seeking an authoritative reference on current practice.
Improving the Safety and Efficiency of Emergency Services by
During emergency situations, society relies upon the efficient response time and effective services of emergency facilities that include fire departments, law enforcement, search and rescue, and emergency medical services (EMS). As such, it is imperative that emergency crews are outfitted with technologies that can cut response time and can also predict where such events may occur and prevent them from happening. The safety of first responders is also of paramount concern. New tools can be implemented to map areas of vulnerability for emergency responders, and new strategies can be devised in their training to ensure that they are conditioned to respond efficiently to an emergency and also conscious of best safety protocols. Improving the Safety and Efficiency of Emergency Services: Emerging Tools and Technologies for First Responders addresses the latest tools that can support first responders in their ultimate goal: delivering their patients to safety. It also explores how new techniques and devices can support first responders in their work by addressing their safety, alerting them to accidents in real time, connecting them with medical experts to improve the chances of survival of critical patients, predicting criminal and terrorist activity, locating missing persons, and allocating resources. Highlighting a range of topics such as crisis management, medical/fire emergency warning systems, and predictive policing technologies, this publication is an ideal reference source for law enforcement, emergency professionals, medical professionals, EMTs, fire departments, government officials, policymakers, IT consultants, technology developers, academicians, researchers, and students.
The Emergency Medical Responder by
Emergency medical service providers serve as the primary immediate response to emergencies of all kinds, including natural disasters and acts of terrorism in the United States, with states serving as the regulatory agencies responsible for training, scope of practice, and continuing education for potential and working EMS providers. This text serves as a comprehensive guide to individuals in training to become emergency medical service providers and complements Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) and Emergency Medical Responder (EMR) courses as the primary classroom text consistent with National EMS Curriculum Standards and other industry guidelines. Each chapter addresses a relevant organ system and its physiology, methods of assessment, treatment recommendations, along with a case study to illustrate the topics at hand. So much of what is involved in emergency medical services is based on practical and applicable knowledge of situations, and these case studies will provide students with exposure to the field work they will be responding to. Written with the context of COVID-19 implications in mind, this is first EMT text of its kind produced after the onset of the pandemic, with considerations and citations from national and international emergency medicine journals to incorporate guidelines and best-practices in light of shifting conditions and expectations.
Fundamentals of Paramedic Practice by
Driven by changes to clinical practice, new evidence-based research, and shifts in global economics and politics, the field of paramedic science is rapidly evolving. This new edition of Fundamentals of Paramedic Practice offers students and recently qualified practitioners an accessible and comprehensive introduction to paramedic science and pre-hospital care, providing expert and up-to-date guidance on the essential theories and real-world practice of this dynamic area of emergency medicine. Assuming no prior knowledge of the subject, this user-friendly textbook provides broad and inclusive coverage of topics including professionalism, law and ethics, assessment skills, research methods, pharmacology and more. Contributions from experienced paramedics and clinicians, contemporary case studies, full-colour illustrations and powerful pedagogical tools help students gain a thorough understanding of the essential components of paramedic practice. Employs a comprehensive, multidisciplinary approach to the study of paramedic practice, presenting theoretical and clinical topics in a straightforward and student-friendly manner New chapters on toxicology, medical terminology and low acuity care in paramedicine, with an increased focus on mental health Includes new end-of-chapter learning activities and quizzes, case studies and references, charts and diagrams Fundamentals of Paramedic Practice: A Systems Approach is an invaluable resource for undergraduate paramedic and emergency care students as well as qualified paramedics, clinicians and educators seeking an authoritative reference on current practice.
Fundamentals of Fire and Emergency Services by
Fundamentals of Fire and Emergency Services, Second Edition, is designed to introduce students to the firefighting profession as well as provide career firefighters a resource for continued learning. Offering a comprehensive overview of the fundamentals of modern fire service, the text covers the history of the fire service, career opportunities and education, fire dynamics, fire prevention, and more. With an emphasis on critical thinking, each chapter follows the FESHE curriculum and outlines specific learning objectives that address the ever-increasing challenges of this dynamic profession. Online supplemental teaching materials are available to help instructors and students get the most from their EMS course. Resource Central, accessed through www.bradybooks.com, offers instructors online supplemental teaching material, such as test banks and customizable PowerPoint lectures to aid in the classroom. These instructor resources are also available through Pearson's Instructor Resource Center. Students have access to a variety online study aids tailored to their fire service course.
 |
WCTC Library Catalog for Print Books & Media |
 |
WCTC Library eBook Collection |
 |
WorldCat, the worldwide catalog of resources |
|
|
