Breast Cancer: Current Trends in Molecular Research by
Breast cancer is one of the most common cancer types worldwide, and is a leading cause of cancer related deaths in women. In this book, medical experts review our current understanding of the molecular biology and characteristics of breast cancer. The topics covered in this book provide comprehensive knowledge of mechanisms underlying breast carcinogenesis, and are intended for a wide audience including scientists, teachers, and students. 11 chapters present information about several topics on breast cancer, including the role of cell growth and proliferation pathways, androgen and cytokine signaling, germline mutations in breast cancer susceptibility genes, and molecular factors causing invasive and metastatic breast cancer. In addition, the editors discuss the recent advancements in multi-omics data analysis based on inter-and intra-tumor molecular profiles. The reference highlights how the knowledge and understanding of the biological behavior of breast neoplasms have facilitated ongoing investigations into dietary polyphenolic compounds with antioxidant properties, making them function as cancer chemopreventive agents. Along with this, the current development of treatment strategies such as targeted molecular therapy, and radiation therapy is brought to the fore to update readers.
Practical Diabetes Care for Healthcare Professionals by
Practical Diabetes Care for Healthcare Professionals, Second Edition, helps healthcare professionals get up-to-speed on type 2 diabetes care. Type 2 diabetes is multifaceted, affecting a person's daily life, family and workplace. Beyond the usual health impact, diabetes may also carry significant psychological burdens. Successful care means whole [person] care which can be daunting for an individual healthcare provider. The complete assessment of people with diabetes must include a review of diabetes medications, blood glucose levels, nutritional intake, physical activity, and stress. Also important is a review of possible micro- and macrovascular complications. This practical guide translates research and evidence-based recommendations into everyday clinical practice, with the goal of helping all members of the healthcare team more effectively manage their diabetic patients. Provides detailed, real-life case scenarios that illustrate the principles outlined in each chapter Includes separate chapters for specific diabetes-related complications Devotes a new chapter to the concept of the Diabetes Health Care Team and its impact on diabetes care Expands on the importance of lifestyle approaches, including a key discussion on the emotional aspects of managing a long-term chronic disease Provides a comprehensive, yet succinct, review of diabetes that includes details on medication choice, dosages, advancements and technological accomplishments
Arthritis Sourcebook by
"Provides basic consumer health information on the importance of healthy bones, arthritis risk factors, the common types, the current treatment strategies along with self-management strategies using herbs, dietary supplements, and complementary and alternative medicines to reduce pain and inflammation. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources"--
Alzheimer's Disease by
Alzheimer's disease is an increasingly common form of dementia and despite rising interest in discovery of novel treatments and investigation into aetiology, there are no currently approved treatments that directly tackle the causes of the condition. Due to its multifactorial pathogenesis, current treatments are directed against symptoms and even precise diagnosis remains difficult as the majority of cases are diagnosed symptomatically and usually confirmed only by autopsy. Alzheimer's Disease: Recent Findings in Pathophysiology, Diagnostic and Therapeutic Modalities provides a comprehensive overview from aetiology and neurochemistry to diagnosis, evaluation and management of Alzheimer's disease, and latest therapeutic approaches. Intended to provide an introduction to all aspects of the disease and latest developments, this book is ideal for students, postgraduates and researchers in neurochemistry, neurological drug discovery and Alzheimer's disease.
Coronary Artery Disease: Therapeutics and Drug Discovery by
This book provides an overview of the etiology of coronary artery disease and focuses on the main therapies and drug interventions currently available. It highlights drug pharmacology and therapeutic challenges, with a special emphasis on the underlying principles of available therapeutics and the on-going development of drugs for coronary artery disease. The book is divided into eight chapters, the first of which describes the classical mechanism of coronary artery disease and its clinical presentations. Chapter 2 lists the principles of and related evidence on the prevention and treatment of coronary artery disease. This includes diet and lifestyle management, and guidelines for the treatment of acute coronary syndrome and stable coronary artery disease. In turn, Chapter 3 describes revascularization treatments, covering percutaneous coronary interventions, coronary artery bypass grafts and thrombolysis. This chapter also addresses the main therapeutic challenges. The following chapters provide an overview of three major categories of coronary artery disease drugs, which target thrombosis (Chapter 4), lipid metabolism (Chapter 5), and hypertension (Chapter 6). Heart failure constitutes the major health burden in the late stage of coronary artery disease; accordingly, current heart failure therapeutics and related drug pharmacology are described in Chapter 7. In closing, Chapter 8 provides a summary of on-going clinical trials for coronary artery disease drug development and discusses a number of promising areas in which intensive research into new therapeutics is being pursued. Given its scope, the book will be of interest to clinicians, medical students and research scientists, as well as to pharmaceutical professionals who are seeking new therapies and drugs for coronary artery disease and related disorders.
 |
WCTC Library Catalog for Print Books & Media |
 |
WCTC Library eBook Collection |
 |
WorldCat, the worldwide catalog of resources |
|
|
