Dental Anatomy by
Loaded with meticulously detailed, beautifully illustrated structures of the human dental anatomy and the surrounding systems that support its function, clearly and concisely labeled for easy identification. Illustrations by award-winning and best-selling medical illustrator Vincent Perez, whose life mission is cataloging the beauty and detail of our complicated body systems for the medical professional, the formative student and the inquisitive layperson. Suggested uses: o Dental Students & Hygienists - handy and incredibly thorough reference that is compact and easily reviewed on a daily basis o Dentists - what any professional office needs for reference while consulting patients, also leave guides in offices to look over while patients wait o Parents - can show kids where their adult teeth are hiding when losing teeth, plus to emphasize the importance of taking care of their mouth and teeth o Patient - use guide to locate sources of pain for reporting to your dentist
How to Use Evidence-Based Dental Practices to Improve Clinical Decision-Making by
This book is a one-stop resource for learning how to harness the power of the latest scientific information and optimize patient care. How to Use Evidence-Based Dental Practices to Improve Your Clinical Decision-Making is the definitive resource for dental students and practitioners who want to learn from leaders in the field of evidence-based dentistry (EBD); quickly conduct searches for the latest research; master the skill of critically appraising clinical studies; confidently apply the latest research to patient care; teach others how to inform their practice with the latest clinical evidence; and access everything they need to become an EBD all-star. The ADA Center for Evidence-Based Dentistry oversaw the development of this publication. Dental teams and educators alike will find it a useful resource for incorporating the most up-to-date scientific evidence in clinical decisions and instilling others with the curious mindset needed to provide evidence-based health care. Includes link to e-book.
Peri-Implant Therapy for the Dental Hygienist by
Practical guidance for dental hygienists on how to maintain dental implants in daily practice The newly revised Second Edition of Peri-Implant Therapy for the Dental Hygienist provides a comprehensive guide to biofilm-focused assessment, maintenance, and home care for the prevention of long-term implant complications. The book offers clinical protocols ranging from single titanium and ceramic implant-borne restorations to the fixed full arch final prosthesis. The text also discusses pre-surgical regenerative procedures, implant placement, and patient communication to support hygienists and other dental professionals in talking to patients about implant dentistry. The book is a valuable clinically oriented resource guide for dental professionals seeing patients with titanium and ceramic dental implants. This new edition introduces readers to new information on ceramic implant instrumentation and 'Mastering the Arch', as well as detailed information on how to remove, assess, and provide maintenance for full arch prostheses patients. A new companion website provides dental instructor materials, review questions and answers, lesson plans, videos, PowerPoint slides, skills evaluations, and learning objectives. The book includes: Useful clinical photographs, illustrations, and patient cases to demonstrate the concepts discussed throughout the book Researched protocols for assessment, professional in-office maintenance, and biofilm-focused patient home care to meet all the peri-implant therapy challenges Updated classification, guidelines, and treatments for peri-implant disease Technology and resources for prevention of peri-implantitis and complications that can be prevented with early detection and patient awareness Ideal for dental hygienists and dental hygiene and dental students, Peri-Implant Therapy for the Dental Hygienist is also an essential reference for any dental professional seeking a one-stop resource for maintaining dental implants and managing their complications.
Applied Pharmacology for the Dental Hygienist by
With a focus on the most commonly used drugs in dentistry, Applied Pharmacology for the Dental Hygienist, 8th Editionprovides you with an in-depth understanding of the pharmacologic principles needed for safe and effective dental treatment and oral health care. It discusses drug properties and mechanisms of action, dosages, intended effects, interactions, and adverse reactions - both for the medications a patient may already be taking and for the drugs prescribed by the dentist. This new edition has been updated throughout to give you a firm foundation in pharmacology in order to assess and educate patients so they can maintain optimal oral health! IMPROVED! Test Bank with cognitive leveling based on Bloom's Taxonomy mapped to the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE) blueprint. Comprehensive coverage with a dental focus provides you with an in-depth understanding of the most commonly used drugs, how they work, and how they affect patients' oral health and dental treatment options. Multiple opportunities for classroom and board exam prep offers summaries and review questions at the end of each chapter, helping you to assess your knowledge of the material. Key terms are bolded and in color within each chapter and defined in a handy glossary. Full-color design engages the reader and includes additional illustrations showing basic principles and internal processes, along with photographs of oral conditions and side effects. Separate drug index provides easy look-up of specific drugs and types of drugs. Quick-reference appendixes include resources such as the top 200 drugs, medical acronyms, and information on herbal and dietary supplements. NEW! Updated drug content throughout, including new side effects and warnings for many commonly seen drugs. NEW! Elsevier Animation Collection clips on Evolve includes systemic anatomy and physiology.
Foundations of Periodontics for the Dental Hygienist by
Comprehensive and easy-to-understand, Foundations of Periodontics for the Dental Hygienist, Enhanced 5th Edition equips dental hygiene students with up-to-date, evidence-based coverage of periodontal anatomy, the periodontal disease process, and classifications of periodontal disease.Rather than presenting information in narrative style, the author--a leading expert in the field--uses a detailed outline format, making the information easier to read, understand, and reference. Rich with engaging learning features and student resources, the Enhanced 5th Edition has been revised and updated throughout to reflect the hygienist's increasingly important role in periodontal therapy and to help students confidently apply what they've learned to clinical patient care situations.
Local Anesthesia for the Dental Hygienist by
Binder-Ready Edition: This loose-leaf copy of the full text is a convenient, accessible, and customizable alternative to the bound book. With this binder-ready edition, students can personalize the text to match their unique needs! Learn the safe use of local anesthesia with the only book written specifically for dental hygienists! Local Anesthesia for the Dental Hygienist, 3rd Edition provides a complete guide to pharmacology and anesthetic techniques, helping you learn procedures before you work with actual patients. Detailed drawings show dental anatomy and full-color photos illustrate specific injection techniques; case studies let you apply your knowledge to clinical practice. The Evolve website includes procedure videos and prepares you for success on board exams with practice questions and a mock licensure exam. Writing in a warm, humanistic style, dental hygiene educator Demetra Logothetis will allay any fears you may have in working with local and topical anesthetics. Clear, approachable writing style makes it easier to learn proper techniques and gain confidence, acknowledging not only the patient's fear of injection but also the fears of the inexperienced clinician. More than 400 full-color photographs and illustrations show techniques, procedures, and instruments. Procedures boxes provide illustrated, step-by-step instructions for performing specific procedures, including indications, contraindications, nerves and teeth affected, operator and patient positioning, insertion point, penetration, amount of anesthetic, and working time. Case studies make it easier to apply concepts to the clinical setting and to develop problem-solving skills. Review questions at the end of each chapter provide the opportunity to assess your understanding, and the Evolve website provides chapter practice quizzes and a 55-question mock examination. Dental Hygiene Considerations boxes summarize key points and tips for optimal care. Expert author Demetra Logothetis is an educator with more than 20 years of experience teaching local anesthesia administration for dental hygienists. Key terms are highlighted within the text and defined in the glossary. NEW! Updated information is provided on local anesthesia guidelines. NEW! Videos of 15 local anesthesia procedures on the Evolve website demonstrate how to perform procedures. NEW! Updated clinical photos are added to show examples of both proper and improper technique. NEW! Updated case studies, procedure boxes, and multiple-choice review questions allow you to measure your progress.
Pocket Atlas of Oral Diseases by
The complete pictorial guide to oral diseases, a pocket-sized bestseller now in its third edition Laskaris' Pocket Atlas of Oral Diseases is a practical interdisciplinary pocket reference for dentists, dermatologists, otolaryngologists, primary care practitioners, and dental and medical students. This popular book provides comprehensive guidance on the diagnosis and treatment of an exhaustive range of oral diseases. The fully revised and updated third edition includes over 40 new conditions. Highlights include: Full coverage of both local and systemic oral diseases Consistently structured texts describe each condition, covering definition, etiology, clinical features, lab tests, differential diagnosis, and treatment 418 high-resolution color photographs, most are new for this edition The Pocket Atlas of Oral Diseases is a superb and convenient pocket reference of invaluable practical use to any clinician involved in the diagnosis and treatment of diseases of the oral cavity.
Wilkens' Clinical Practice of the Dental Hygienist by
Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Preferred Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, Navigate 2 TestPrep, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools.Staying true to Esther Wilkins' pioneering vision that made her best-selling text the "Bible" for dental hygienists, Wilkins' Clinical Practice of the Dental Hygienist, Thirteenth Edition progresses through crucial topics in dental hygiene in a straightforward format to ensure students develop the knowledge and skills they need for successful, evidence-based practice in today's rapidly changing oral health care environment.This cornerstone text, used in almost every dental hygiene education program in the country, has been meticulously updated by previous co-authors, Linda Boyd and Charlotte Wyche, and new co-author Lisa Mallonee to even better meet the needs of today's students and faculty, while reflecting the current state of practice in dental hygiene. Maintaining the hallmark outline format, the Thirteenth Edition continues to offer the breadth and depth necessary not only for foundation courses but for use throughout the entire dental hygiene curriculum.
 |
WCTC Library Catalog for Print Books & Media |
 |
WCTC Library eBook Collection |
 |
WorldCat, the worldwide catalog of resources |
|
|
